Oculus has endured a PR nightmare in recent weeks after it emerged its controversial Oculus Quest 2 Facebook account merge had turned some headsets into “paperweights”. Well, that nightmare is set to continue with the revelation that deleting Facebook also deletes your Oculus purchases.
Twitter user @CixLiv revealed the news, which was subsequently verified by UploadVR.
Facebook confirmed to UploadVR that if you own the original Quest, Rift or Rift 2, don’t plan to get another Oculus headset and haven’t yet linked your Oculus and Facebook accounts, then deleting your unlinked Facebook account now won’t affect your Oculus store purchases. However, it’s worth noting currently anyone using an Oculus device for the first time or the Oculus Quest 2 needs to log in with a Facebook account, and from 2023, Facebook will no longer support Oculus accounts at all.